About the charity

You are here

Hope is a community charity owned by local people, to do good things in Northampton that address and tackle poverty, especially homelessness:

  • We provide practical services that help people survive poverty
  • We help people to leave poverty and homelessness through giving training and skills to improve employability
  • We campaign against poverty and negative attitudes and poor treatment towards our client group

We strive to work towards the highest standards of quality governance in charities, complying fully with all legal requirements and working in an ethical way and actively pursuing equality of opportunity and fair treatment to everyone we work with, our staff and volunteers and suppliers. To this end we are accredited for our work with volunteers under Investing In Volunteers, for our social enterprise by the Social Enterprise Quality Mark, and we are working towards to PQASSO standards of charity governance.

For a statement on our values, read here.

Our Governance:

Hope Centre is a charity (no.1015743) and company limited by guarantee (no 02768301)

We are governed by a trustee body chaired by Adrian Pryce from the University of Northampton. Trustees are recruited from amongst our members at annual general meetings. Anyone can become a member of Hope and we welcome new members to join at any time, to offer strategic direction and local accountability. Just contact us through our main office if interested using this form. There is a fee of £5 per year.

The other trustees are:

Margaret Jones, Sue Peasland, Peter Nightingale, Ben Leadsom (vice chair), Jackie Dunn (treasurer), Cllr Mary Markham, Charles Manners  and Jez Hatton.

Hope Enterprises is a wholly owned trading arm with separate board, fully accountable to the Hope centre, also chaired by Adrian Pryce (see their website)

Our patrons are: The Right Hon Earl Spencer; Sally Keeble, former MP; The Reverend Peter Doyle, Bishop of Northampton;  David Laing, Lord Lieutenant of Northamptonshire;  Nick Petford, University of Northampton Vice Chancellor; Kelvin Thomas, Chairman, Northampton Town Football Club

Our financial reports:

To download our  financial reports please select from the options below.

Financial year 2016-2017

Financial year 2015/2016

Financial year 2014/15

Financial Year 2013/2014
Financial Year 2012/2013
Financial Year 2011/2012
Financial Year 2010/2011

How Hope manages data about you:    Privacy Statement